

Hydro Place. 500 Columbus Drive. P.O. Box 12400. St. John's. NL Canada A1B 4K7 t. 709.737.1400 f. 709.737.1800 www.nlh.nl.ca

May 13, 2021

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Prince Charles Building 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention: Ms. Cheryl Blundon Director of Corporate Services & Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

Re: Application for Approval to Replenish the Allowance for Unforeseen Items Account – Hydro's Reply

On May 4, 2021, Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro ("Hydro") filed an application with the Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities pursuant to section 41(3) of the *Public Utilities Act* requesting approval of the restoration of the Allowance for Unforeseen Items Account to \$1,000,000 following expenditures of \$108,000 in relation to the replacement of a failed diesel engine in Port Hope Simpson ("Application").

On May 5, 2021, Newfoundland Power advised that they had no comments on Hydro's Application. Hydro did not receive correspondence in relation to the Application from any of the remaining parties. Hydro respectfully requests that the Board approve the application as submitted.

Should you have any questions, please contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR HYDRO

Shirley A. Walsh Senior Legal Counsel, Regulatory SAW/kd

Encl.

ecc: **Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities** Jacqui Glynn PUB Official Email

> Newfoundland Power Kelly C. Hopkins Dominic J. Foley Regulatory Email

Consumer Advocate

Dennis M. Browne, Q.C., Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Stephen F. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Sarah G. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis Bernice Bailey, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis

Industrial Customer Group

Paul L. Coxworthy, Stewart McKelvey Denis J. Fleming, Cox & Palmer Dean A. Porter, Poole Althouse

Praxair Canada Inc. Sheryl E. Nisenbaum

Peter Strong, Linde

Teck Resources Limited Shawn Kinsella

Iron Ore Company of Canada Gregory A.C. Moores, Stewart McKelvey

Labrador Interconnected Group

Senwung Luk, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP Julia Brown, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP